Skip to content ↓

South Dartmoor Multi Academy Trust

South Dartmoor Multi Academy Trust

The South Dartmoor Multi Academy Trust (SDAMAT) was formed in April 2011 and when 5 local schools made the decision to work in partnership together: Ashburton Primary, Buckfastleigh Primary, Ilsington C of E Primary, South Dartmoor Community College and Widecombe Primary. All schools within the SDAMAT have equal representation at leadership and governance level regardless of our school size. In the last few months the Academy has secured funding to build a new studio school offering education focusing on the built environment for pupils from year 9+ and Moretonhampstead Primary joined in September 2014 bringing our total number of schools to 7 with approximately 2,200 pupils.

We have 4 core principles that drive our partnership:

  • Early Intervention – to use academy resources to target vulnerable and underachieving children and their families
  • 4-19 Curriculum – to develop a 4-19 curriculum that meets the needs of all our pupils and       ensures a consistency of language and approach towards learning from all staff
  • Back office – to work towards reducing costs and improving services by pooling resources and skills across the Academy
  • Partnership/Extended Schools – to provide all pupils within the academy equal access to the benefits of an excellent and broad based education

These principles underpin all that we do and are often a focus for our next steps of development as a group of schools. We are extremely united and dedicated in wanting to achieve the highest quality of education for all our pupils and all school leaders within the academy are invested in wanting all the schools to succeed. We make best use of opportunities to share good practise and our staff are used to working together across the schools.

Trust Members and Directors


Graeme Cock 

Paul McCormick 

Judith Morgan 

John Searson (representing EDEN)

Trustees (Directors)                            

Pete Brown

Graeme Cock, Chair

Dominic Course

Chris Elliott 

Andrew Faulkner

Beverley Garland

Nigel Gore

Sarah Parker- Khan, Vice Chair

Rachel Shaw,  CEO/Executive Principal

Annual Accounts

Details of the academy accounts can be found below.

Annual Accounts 2016-17

Annual Accounts 2015-16

Annual Accounts 2014-15

Annual Accounts 2013-14

Annual Accounts 2012-13

Annual Accounts 2011-12

Please click on the link below to see the most up to date register of our Trust Governors: