Skip to content ↓

Meet our staff and Governors


Senior Leadership Team                       

Mr Eddie Brown (Headteacher and Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL))   

Mr Rob Pepper (Deputy Headteacher, Deputy DSL)          

Ms Rosina Kellman  (SENDco , Deputy DSL)

EYFS- Nightingale

Miss Amy Walton - Teacher

Mrs Sandra Ashman  - TA

Class 1 - Darling

Mrs Shelley Micklewright 

Mrs Clare Smerdon - TA

Class 2- Malala

Miss Jessica Alford - Teacher

Miss Kate Chapple - TA

Class 3 - Anning

Miss Suzie Kendall -Teacher

Mrs Myra Williams - TA

Class 4 - Attenborough

Mr Craig Irons  - Teacher

Mrs Alison Gray - TA

Mrs Helene Hellgren-Smith - TA

Class 5 - King

Mr Sam Roberts - Teacher

Mrs Jenny Nash - TA

Class 6- Raleigh

Mrs Sam McCarthy - Teacher

Miss Susannah Turp - TA

Mrs Roz Woodhead - TA

Additional Adults/Responsibilities

Mrs Gemima  Kay-Savage - Sports Apprentice

Admin Staff

Miss Kirsty Sparks

Caretaking & Cleaning

Mrs Janet Richards    

Mrs Stacey Ashworth      

Meal Time Assistants

Mrs Charmian Bragg        

Mrs Stacey Ashworth      

Mrs Jenna Cartwright      

Mrs Anita Kindred

Mrs Susannah Turp targetted learning support staff as needed and Gemima  Kay- Savage as Sports Leader


Mr Malcolm Cowper (Chair of Governors)

Mrs Beverley Garland (Vice- Chair of Governors)

Mrs Sharron Humphries (Vice- Chair of Governors   

John Goulden

Roz Parkes

Miss Jess Alford - Teacher and Assistant Head

Mr Eddie Brown - Headteacher, ex-officio

                                                                                               Vice- Chair of Governors Beverley Garland shares her thoughts on being a Buckfastleigh School Governor. 

What is our role?

Becoming a governor is big commitment and not one to be taken lightly, but it is a very rewarding role.  Having been elected each governor undergoes formal on going training both at county and academy level, and during their first year is paired with a more experienced governor mentor who will undergo joint visits into school looking at pre decided areas linked into the School Development Plan.
We meet formally every half term to ensure that the School Development Plan is being implemented, to discuss staffing, update policies, feedback on Governor visits and to discuss future plans and developments at both school and Academy level.                                                     













Currently we have a vacancy for a Community Governor and we are very keen to recruit someone with financial expertise to further complement our experienced team of Governors.  If you know of anyone with accountancy or business experience, please do ask them to contact us via the school office.

Beverley Garland (Vice-Chair of Governors)